Exhibition Day

Today, as I said would in my last vlog, I went to visit the current exhibitions that I have wanted to see. I will go through each exhibition one by one on this post, giving a review and additional information I found out.

86

Everything is Moving

This exhibition was slightly embellished online. There I was looking for a proper exhibition room, only to find it was a small selection of photos on the walls around the cafe! None of the photographs were particularly stand out, however it is always great to see different peoples views and expressions of the same subject. This exhibition was put on to show how the young people of London to show their perspective of where they live and the changes within society and technology.

BRIGITTE BARDOT, SPAIN, 1971

Terry O’Neill

It was great to see these photos, as Terry O’Neill is not a photographer I was aware of before. However, this exhibition was more of a gallery where you go to look at the photos with the potential of buying them. It was a small place, where you had to be buzzed in. I much prefer to look at photos without the pressure of someone just watching you. On the positive side it was free to go in and look, with no other people there. A great point of interest for those with a love of photography.

550 _home_katemoss

Bailey’s Stardust

This  was the exhibition I was most anticipating. David Bailey is one of my all time favourite photographers, and a legend in his own right. After also focusing my dissertation on him too (if only the exhibition came before my hand in!) my interest in him and his work is strong.

I didn’t pre-book the tickets so therefore had to wait for the next available slot, so I would definitely recommend booking in advance, as it is a very popular exhibition. Tickets on the website are priced at £16, with students concessions being at £13.50. However, it is £12 if you don’t want to add a donation, which as a student brings the price down a little more. Although the tickets may be a little more pricey than you would hope, with over 250 amazing images to see in the exhibition it is most definitely worth it.

The exhibition was split into different sections, in terms of Bailey’s work. This spanned from his images of the tribes in Papua New Guinea, to his images of some of fashions greatest idols, to personal images of his family. Each section is titled and has a small description underneath. Headphones are available to purchase, with each room being themed by a different song. Whether you are a fan of Bailey’s work or photography in general, this is most definitely a must see exhibition.

Afterwards the shop offers an array of goodies from notebooks with the stunning image of Kate Moss, skull shaped candles and fridge magnets with inspiring quotes from the man himself.

87

Vivien Leigh

Whilst in the National Portrait Gallery, when waiting to see Bailey’s Stardust, I wondered round some more of the museum and came across a small section dedicated to the late actress Vivien Leigh. The display holds portraits of the actress taken by leading photographers such as Norman Parkinson and Cecil Beaton. Her most famous performance was from the well known film Gone With The Wind (1939). She was also married to in the infamous Laurence Olivier.

If you are going to the National Portrait Gallery, I would recommend taking a spare few minutes to take a look at this small exhibit. It would be great to inspire those who are looking into past fashion and styles, as well as photography.

Recall

These are just a short summary of each of the exhibitions I visited today. However, I have additional notes and images, which I hope to use to work on building a more informative summary of the exhibitions to aid the students who may want to visit them themselves. I need to be short and sweet, whilst informing them with the important bits, whilst not giving the exhibitions away. This is something I will be working on in Part 2 of the project. I think this is what i will ask Adrienne to help me with in her lessons too.